Message from Gerardo Hernández Nordelo

This Wednesday morning, Adriana Pérez, the wife of the Cuban hero Gerardo Hernández, a political prisoner in the United States, received the following message from him, via the U.S. International Committee to Free the Cuban Five.

Dear brothers and sisters:

I hope to dictate these words over the telephone, which means I have to be brief and in addition, I will not be able to tell you everything that I want to, so as not have the communication cut. Yesterday they took me out of “the hole” with the same speed with which they had placed me in it. They had taken me there supposedly under investigation. These investigations can last 3 months, sometimes more, but I was there for 13 days. As a well-known Cuban journalist would say: draw you own conclusions…

I would like to express my profound gratitude to you. You know that those were particularly difficult days due to excessive heat and lack of air, but you were my oxygen. I cannot find a better way of summarizing the tremendous importance of your solidarity efforts. Many thanks to all the compañeros and compañeras of Cuba and the world who joined forces to condemn my situation. And to the institutions, organizations and persons of goodwill who, in one way or another, tried to bring that injustice to an end.

To our President Raúl, who so much honors us with his support. To the Cuban Parliament and its President Ricardo Alarcón, an untiring fighter for the cause of the Five. To my 4 brothers, who sent me their messages of encouragement, and who have suffered and live with the constant danger of suffering similar abuses once again. And of course, to our beloved Comandante en Jefe: Thank you for so much honor! (I don’t know if I should say this, but just the privilege pf hearing my name in the voice of Fidel gives me a desire to also thank those who sent me to “the hole”…)

Thank you, Comandante, for the joy of hearing you and seeing you as great as ever!

My thanks to everybody for having once again demonstrated the power of that solidarity which also, without any doubt, some day, will set us free!

¡La lucha continúa!

A warm embrace,

Gerardo Hernández Nordelo,

USP Victorville, CA

August 3, 2010

Translated by Granma International

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

